Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happycthulhu

Raised beds on concrete pad

happycthulhu
17 years ago

I'm trying this as an experiment this summer.

Because I have limited space to garden in, I decided to build a couple of raised beds on a concrete parking pad in my back yard.

This spot will get full sun all day.

I used 80 cinder blocks.

Layered the bottom with about 5 inches of hay (1 hay bale per bed).

Then filled it up with mostly finished compost from my pile.

I'll put another layer of finished compost, soil and sand on top of the un-finished compost.

Hopefully, these beds will be better protected from cutworms and vine borers.

I'll even plant marigolds in the holes in the cinderblocks.

I'll be growing tomatos, peppers, and some strawberrys.

In the fall, I can make a hoop house cover over each of these beds for salad crops.

My back is real damn sore right now though.

Comments (13)

• Calamity_J
    17 years ago

I'm new to gardening but that sure looks great to me!!! I have only been doing perennial flowers and strawberries and raspberries but plan on trying to grow from seed instead of buying mature plants so I am glad to have noticed this forum! You've done a lot of good work and I'm sure it will pay off!!! Jane

• linda_schreiber
    17 years ago

Sorry to be late...... This looks terrific! Hope your back is better by now . There are a lot of other things that would be happy in those holes in the cinder blocks besides marigolds, although a bunch of those would be nice. Chives, garlic chives, thyme, savory, mints, lots of other herbs would be happy in those holes. Ditto nasturtiums with their flowers great in salads, although they would drape a bit. And just stick the supports for the hoop house in the *outside* of the holes, and you can have herby, salady stuff to go with the greens.

• bencjedi
    16 years ago