Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tnflowergal

can you transplant a squash plant

tnflowergal
20 years ago

I am a newbie to gardening and had no idea what monsters squash vine and leaves are. Needless to say the plant I have growing in a container needs to be freed from the pot and soon. Has anyone tried transplanting a grown plant from pot to the ground? I need any tips you may have because I'm going to do have to move it.

Comments (7)

• EarthAngel
    20 years ago

It's been my experience that a full grown veggie transplanted like this won't make it. But since you know you have to move it, I'd cut it back as much as possible, transplant it late in the evening (sun won't scorch it), use manure tea in the planting hole, continue to water it well, and cover it with a floating row cover until it restablishes itself. Good luck!

• mtomlin
    20 years ago

My experience with squash may have been a fluke, but here it is. My husband was adjusting some soil around our yellow squash and broke the plant off at the base. He just shoved the stem back into the ground and decided not to mention it (in case it died). Well, the plant is still flowering and producing squash and he swears he broke the stem in two and just shoved it back into the soil.