Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brob1969

Floating wetlands for water clarification

brob1969
15 years ago

I am constructing a floating island wetlands to launch in a pond dug on a construction site (I am a General Contractor) in Florida. The pond is about a quarter-acre in size and was dug for the soil which will be used to create an earthen home.

After more than a month, the pond is still very silty having the color of dark coffee. The entire project is designed to work in harmony with nature; the home is completely off-grid and there are constructed wetlands both inside and outside of the home that will be an onsite wastewater treatment facility. The pond has already become home to quite a bit of wildlife including some tiny fish that have appeared from nowhere; I would like to use a floating wetlands to help with water clarity and to help keep the pond healthy.

After trying to find information on the internet regarding such a thing, I found very little information; so I decided to design and build a 'raft' out of 4' PVC and line it with a plastic mesh filled with peat. I will plant things that can grow hydroponically, take up toxins, and provide a healthy bioculture for the water. I know things like reed, cattail, and papyrus do a good job of removing heavy metals and excess nutrients from the water, but does anyone have any ideas of what may improve the water clarity?

Here is a link that might be useful: The off-grid house being built

Comments (9)

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    15 years ago

I suggest you try some peat separately first. I would fear that peat would color the water indefinitely. The water in the tundra where many forms of peat grow is always brown.

• nandina
    15 years ago