Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daniellalell

Eggplants in pots?

daniellalell
16 years ago

Howdy..I just ordered some Rosa Bianca eggplant seeds. I have never done anything except strawberries before. Have had them for about 10 years. I love eggplants but they are getting so darn expensive, I thought I would experiment and try to grow some myself next season.

Basically I have no clue what I am doing, lol. We moved to our current house 4 years ago, and I hate this soil, it just disgusts me..the things i found in the ground when we moved in, I swear this was a dump at one time.

I won't even eat the strawberries I grow, and next year plan on putting them in pots. So I thought, why not do that with the eggplants? I will feel so much better eating them knowing they were in a good soil.

SO..Has anyone ever grown eggplants in pots? Can I do this? What kind of soil should I use? I don't even know what kind of growing habit they have..do they vine? Will they need something like a tomato cage? Like I said I am clueless and would appreciate all the help I can get.

Thanks!!

Daniella

Comments (4)

• david52 Zone 6
    16 years ago

Hi Daniella, I grow eggplant in containers all the time because in my area, the nights and soil temperatures stay so cool that the plants won't bear fruit until late August early September, and then it starts getting too cool again.

The technique is called "container gardening', and is used for all kinds of vegetables. There is a specific forum here on Garden Web that deals with the subject, and lots of good info. And as usual, if you google that phrase, all kinds of sources of info and materials pop up.

There are a few pointers I can give, though. You'll want a fairly large container, 10 gal is reasonable. There are all kinds of opinions on soil mixes, and I'd direct you towards the forum for that, I use a mixture of home made compost and last years potting soil, and do this time and again.