Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tired_of_digging

Air-layering using a different type of soil

tired_of_digging
18 years ago

I have been practicing gardening since 2001, but this observation dates back to 1987 or 1988. Maybe I've struck some new stuff. In these grey days, the garden was in a bad shape, due to soil problems, mainly salt accumulation. There are two remote spots in the garden. One harbored a potos, which was climbing a wall, and the other had a philodendron in a large container.

The potos did not grow much beyond it's normal proportions, like those plants you see at the nursery. However, once it's air-roots got hold of the wall (which was mortared), the part of the stem above these roots was thicker, and it's leaves have reached monstrous proportions -- almost two feet (60 cm) long.

The philodendron never flowered before I did one unusual thing: I bagged the air-roots, and filled the bag with sawdust. Fast growth, and flowering, did not come late.

At that time, I did not work yet, and had no funds for gardening, and not a driver's license for me to go to the nursery and stock a pile of manure in the rear trunk. So, I have decided to use whatever materials that seemed adequate, to the best of my understanding at that time. I had some unused mortar which I poured on one plot of the garden. It didn't work. Being close to a carpentry shop, I had access to lots of sawdust. Dazzled by the success of air-layering philodendrons with bags of sawdust, I have poured many bags of sawdust on the soil, and tilled them in. In two weeks, I have witnessed an astounding surprise: The sawdust, once mixed into the soil, did quite the opposite of what I expected it to do, and many plants seemed stressed and wilted. It was like realizing that one plus one equals zero.

Looking back at these days, with today's knowledge, I did understand what happened, but this has also led me to new conclusions.