Return to the Louisiana & Mississippi Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lowering Soil pH- in Louisiana- Organically

Posted by KimbaTWL Zone 9, Lousiana (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 21, 13 at 13:33

I live in Louisiana. My soil is very alkaline (high pH) and and I want to make it more acidic (lower pH). It also is very low on Nitrogen, Phosphorus, and Potassium. How do I fix these two problems?

My soil is very compact clay. I think roots also have a hard to growing.

I have read to add compost. and the soil test paper said add iron sulfate. I want to do it organically and plan on planting native plants. I feel like native plants don't even do when in my soil and it needs to be altered!!

I want to buy stuff, but I don't know what to buy. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lowering Soil pH- in Louisiana- Organically

• Posted by wisner 9 Louisiana (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 1, 13 at 21:16

Did you take a soil sample to LSU Ag Center? I'm not an expert, but I haven't heard on La soils being alkaline. Usually the soil is more acid or neutral. If you sent the sample to LSU they give you the recommendations to make your soil suitable for what you are growing. Adding compost will help your clay soil. If you can find some Cotton Bur compost it works real well.

o

Concur with Wisner, our LA soil is more often on the acidic side.

Adding leaves would help to eventually break down the clay. Leaves also tend to make the soil more acidic.

I use bagged leaves collected in the Fall as a mulch. They are great for weed control and also help to build up the soil organics. I till them in after they decompose. I usually will add lime every 2 or 3 years to help keep the counter the acidity of the leaves.

o

• Posted by kchd 7b Mississippi (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 28, 13 at 15:25

I agree, the soils in Louisiana are generally acidic. Perhaps something caused the soils to be abnormally alkaline. Wood ash will do this.