Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lotusgypsy

Help on Zones

lotusgypsy
17 years ago

Hello,

New here and I'm having trouble finding my exact zones for planting, ect. I'm not very good at finding things on the internet.

I live just a few minutes outside of

New Orleans, LA. My family also has land in Hancock County , MS...about 20 miles north of the beach(Waveland, MS).

Would anyone be able to tell me what my zones are, for La. and Ms.?

Thanks

Comments (5)

• gulfportgardener
    17 years ago

Hi, I am in Gulfport. I have seen this zone listed as 8, 8b, and 9, depending on where you look. I finally decided on Zone 9 simply because that seemed to be the most prevalant. I grew up in Zone 8 and I know the climate is slightly different from here. So Zone 8b or Zone 9, take your pick.

• tamivileine
    17 years ago

this area is NOT a Zone 9 except for microclimatic effects. For instance, planting next to your house.

at best, Z8b

really it's more Z8. We freeze too much for Z9. Z9 is for instance Houston and south, Galveston. etc

• lotusgypsy
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you both! At least now I have an idea on what the land (zone) in MS. would be. I do know the mojority of the land is heavily wooded, with the exception of the road and at least a half of acre that has some good sun. I believe we have a bayou and creeks running through somewhere, but I haven't walked that far yet. The reason I mention that is maybe the soil would be better near the water? Not sure.
    Thanks again...going to look around this site more.

• danbo
    17 years ago

It's my understanding that the zones were recently changed. Here in Diamondhead we were a zone 8. Now we've been moved to 8/9.

I hear this area was a 9 but moved to an 8 when we went through a series of cold winters. As winters are milder recently we've been moved back.