Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maggiemay36_gw

are your caladiums sprouting?

maggiemay36
18 years ago

just curious....haven't seen mine yet,altho the hostas are coming up.is it still early for caladiums? thanks--maggie

Comments (9)

• david1978jp
    18 years ago

One of mine just comes up a little bud.

• angiebug
    18 years ago

No sign of mine yet, including the ones that I started inside to get a jump-start on the weather. But...it's my first attempt at growing them from bulbs instead of buying the potted ones at the store.

• kumquat12
    18 years ago

Have about 3 popping up. 1 last Saturday, today 3. I never dig them up, do you all think I should?

• maggiemay36
    Original Author
    18 years ago

i haven't dug mine up,this will be the third year i've had them come back-IF they come back! here in north louisiana,it's recommended that you dig and re-plant in spring.it's my understanding that caladium bulbs will rot in cold wet soil.mine are in a well-drained,heavily mulched bed and so far i haven't had to replace any(crossing my fingers!)i think (read somewhere?)that the soil has to get up to a constant 50 degrees before they get started-so..... i was just wondering if anyone had seen signs! you're further south than i am,brensaun,so if yours are just starting,mine shouldn't be far behind! angiebug,how long ago did you pot them? i seem to recall thinking that it took them forever to sprout in pots,but again, i believe it has to be pretty warm for them to kick off. thanks again-maggie

• angiebug
    18 years ago