Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herren_gw

SVB times (month, generation, etc)

herren
14 years ago

I'm new to gardening in the south. I rocked a fantastic organic container garden last year and thought I was ready to roll with the big guys. I started a nice sized plot this year, and I am under attack!!!!

I had never heard of SVB but all of the squash I so eagerly planted has been infected. I've had to uproot and destroy most of my vines, and am desperately trying to save (without much hope) what remains.

From my understanding the South produces 2 generations of SVB. Is this true?

I didn't notice the moths start up as I didn't know what to look for....anyone know when they typically appear down here? From my understanding of the egg & larva timing we should expect the 2nd generation 1 1/2 to 2 months after the first....I'm trying to figure out when that will be ;) And to better plan for next year.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (2)

• deep_south_gardener
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Herren,
    Welcome to the south. It's a challenge to garden with
    the heat, humidity and rain. I have a small place and
    don't grow squash so I can't help you with your question.
    Just wanted to say Hey and Welcome. Good luck. Maybe
    check in on the Veggie Forum.

Brenda
    NOLA

• wally_1936
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You might want to try growing VINE squash. The vines are a little tougher and you just may need to learn the times of when these moths come around and plant them before or after. I plant butternut squash and acorn and they don't seem to bother them at all. I always lose my yellow or zuccini squash almost as soon as they start to mature so don't bother anymore. Somesay place blue foil around the base of your plants as they may think it is sky and won't light, but I just wouldn't trust this as so far I have never tried same.

[from a website]
    Identification