Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skittykitty_gw

Baton Rouge Nursery

skittykitty
16 years ago

I am a looking for a good nursery in the Baton Rouge area. Can anyone make a recommendation? I am a newbie and have a lot of questions. I really need someone to walk me through my plant selection. I have drawn my garden plans (versions 1.0Â23.0) and determined that I can not afford most of it. I have determined the appropriate size, texture, blooming time and micro climate for each plant, but that is where I get lost. I see lots of great looking plants on the internet and in magazines, but can never seem to find them locally. I would like to accumulate the plants over the summer and begin the mass planting next fall. Any ideas?

Comments (12)

• natal
    16 years ago

You should be able to get good advice from the staff at Clegg's, Harb's Oasis, Louisiana Nursery, and my personal favorite Naylor's.

• natal
    16 years ago

And plan on attending Hilltop's Annual Fall Sale. Go with a list and get there early!

Here is a link that might be useful: Hilltop Arboretum PlantFest 2007

• nanaboo
    16 years ago

I like Clegg's plants.

• rdillem
    16 years ago

All of the Nurserys listed above are good sources. I personally shop at Cleggs and when I have time I really like to to to Naylors, special places like that are getting harder to find. The couple that runs it are great and very knowledgeable. One of the reasons that many of those plants you see in magazines etc. , are hard to find here is because they don't do well in the summer heat and hummidity here. The Hilltop sale is a jewel, staffed by volunteers but knowledgeable. Many of the growers who supply the plants help with the sale along with other landscape professionals. The selection is excellent, featuring many native plants, unusual and hard to find plants, but all suitable for this area. The plant sale preview in September is also great (I'm a big Hilltop fan, incase you did not notice).

Bob

• rdillem