Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
louisianagal

vegetables to plant now in north MS

louisianagal
14 years ago

I am new to fall gardening and really fairly new to most vegetables. What can I plant now, either via seed or transplant (if I can find them)? My frost date is around Nov 1.

I recently planted 2 tomato suckers, which I have been successful with in the past.

Thanks. Hope some north Mississippians see this.

laurie

Comments (5)

• Donna
    14 years ago

Hi, lgal! I am doing the exact same kind of thinking here in Meridian. In the last week or so, I have begun planting a second "summer garden". I have seeded in cowpeas, squash, cucumbers, and set out two tomatoes. As soon as we dry out from this rain, I will be planting some more bush beans also. My first frost date is very near to yours, which means we have a good 90 days of growing season left. Everything should have time to make even though they will grow more slowly as the days begin to shorten.
    I have also ordered some strawberry plants to set out this fall in hopes of getting a crop next year.

I have been doing reading and researching most of the day for the "real" fall garden (my first, too). MSU says to start seeds INDOORS for broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, and onions in late August. October 15 is my planting out date for these, as well as the time to direct seed leafy greens like collards, turnips, kale, and lettuce. I should think your date would not be more than a week earlier than mine as you are less than 200 miles north of me.

• louisianagal
    Original Author
    14 years ago