Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lightgreenthumb

How are the hummers in your area?

lightGreenThumb
19 years ago

I'm new to hummingbirds and have been frequenting their forums here on gardenweb, but I'm wondering how busy they are in LA.

I've had my feeder out only a week or so now. Did I put it out too late in the season or should i catch some migrators later on?

How busy are your feeders?

Comments (21)

• janet_la
    19 years ago

I don't have a feeder, but I've had a hummer flitting around off and on all day, especially around my confetti lantana.

• greenelbows
    19 years ago

I don't really know what I'm talking about, but I think the experts say they leave for nesting near water (no shortage of that this year!) but like a river, and should be back soon. It really helps in my experience to plant things they like, like salvias, lantana as the last post said, native honeysuckle, abutilons--the ones some people call flowering maple. Anything with a tubular flower I think. I usually see hummers in my abutilons most, but I also have firespike (Odontonema stricta) which blooms later in the summer and they seem to appreciate, quite a few different perennial salvias--lots of others I can't think of at the moment. You don't have to confine yourself to red flowers either; I think the hummers like the blue and yellow salvias I have at least as much. I don't have any right now, but flowering tobacco (Nicotiana sp. and hybrids) are excellent for hummers. Then the feeders bring them up close where you can see them more. They like Pentas too I'm told.

• live_oak_lady
    19 years ago

They've been around. They love the firecracker plant and the salvias, the blue salvias the best.

• lightGreenThumb
    Original Author
    19 years ago