Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jim2k_gw

Do you grow Herbs

jim2k
18 years ago

Does anyone grow herbs. This is my first try like to know your thoughts on the best ones that grow here.thanks Jim

Comments (17)

• drasaid
    18 years ago

and parsley. (Parsley is a big butterfly favorite and they eat a lot of it. Plant more than you need.) I also grow creeping thyme. It does not really count as an herb but whenever I get a sprouting onion or garlic clove it goes in the ground instead of in the trash, then I use the greens off of the top of it for cooking. Much better than picking through slimed-out green onions in the crisper!
    I have grown pineapple sage too, and lots of mints. Mint grows fast and sucks all the nutrients out of the soil, then it looks bad. I keep mine in containers and whenever someone wants some I chop a hunk of the roots out and put soil in the spot. I topdress a lot with mulch.
    I have grown lavender; when it gets leggy I repot it (deeper than before!) Someone gave me a nice 'tree' lavender; when it got leggy they tied it to a stake and made a nice standard of it! I'll have to try that too. If you plant lavender deeper it just keeps right on growing.
    I have given a lot of rosemary away; whenever I have a spare stick I Rootone it and jam it in a pot. Often they root.
    I am aiming at an edible garden, but so far the Bull Terriers have gotten more of it than me.

• lisa455
    18 years ago