Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sultry_jasmine_nights_fl9

What kind of Tropical Trees do you grow?

What kind of tropical trees does everyone grow here?

I am planning on growing some in large containers this year, I would like to know what has worked for others and what varieties are good to grow here? TIA

~SJN

Comments (11)

• helena_z8_ms
    18 years ago

I've been growing a Erythrina bidwillii for about ten years now. At first I gave it protection with leaves and a tarp for the winter but now it's holding its own. It blooms mid spring, summer and fall.

Helena

• sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida-9a-ish)
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Helena,
    Is that also known as coral tree with the red flowers? I can't recall if they have a scent or not but are supposed to attract hummingbirds. I bet it it pretty!

• helena_z8_ms
    18 years ago

Yes there are several of them, another is Erythrina crista-galli aka cry baby. They do attract hummingbirds but have no scent that I know of. After mine gets hit by the hard frost I just cut back the branches that were affected.

Helena

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:1016858}}

• greenelbows1
    18 years ago

I'm not sure what qualifies as a tree and when it's a shrub, and I'm not sure when things are tropical or 'just' sub-tropical.