Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csross_gw

Yardlong trellis advice

csross
10 years ago

I'd like some advice on making a trellis for yardlong beans. I've never grown any before, but am thinking about growing Chinese Red Noodle. I assume they'll do well here in Riverside CA, where we have very hot and dry summers. I'm very limited on garden space, as I'm living in a rental house. I have a 4'x6' raised bed, or I could do containers. This is only my second year with a garden, so I'm still a beginner.

1. Will yardlongs grow up a single piece of string? Or do they need horizontal "crossbars" to climb up so they don't slide down?

2. I have a fence approximately 6' from the edge of the raised bed. If I tie off the string there, will the plants climb a 45 degree angle, or do they only grow vertically? I could also pound a few Tposts into the ground a foot or two outside the garden, and have them grow at a 70 degree angle. My thought is that if they're angled, they won't shade the rest of my garden too much, and it'll be easier to find and pick the beans as they're hanging down.

3. How many plants can be grown per string, or per square foot?

4. Is it possible to grow them in containers? How deep would the soil need to be?

Thanks very much.
-Chris

Comments (5)

• jctsai8b
    10 years ago

How to Grow Yard Long Bean, it may help

http://www.homevegetables.net/how-to-grow-yard-long-bean/

I have grown Dow Gauk yard long beans, Ned noodle yard long beans, I prefer Dow Gauk yard long beans.

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    10 years ago