Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wertach2

My Favas are blooming, too early?

It's my first try at overwintering Favas. I tried spring planting before I found out, on this site, that they needed to be fall planted.

The plants aren't very big, about 1' tall and have some black leaves from a few nights in the low 20's. And I'm sure we will have a lot more cold nights. We still have a lot of winter left here in SC.

Is this normal? Should I cover them?

Comments (32)

• cindy_ga
    11 years ago

I planted mine in October, they started blooming at the end of December and I noticed tiny beans on a few of them this past weekend (thank you for the reminder!) I cover them when temps drop to 28 - but now they are more than 3 feet tall, so hard to really cover well. They're forecasting pretty cold temps at night this weekend - I might have to pull the plastic up and over them again to keep a little heat in.

Last year I forgot to cover during one cold snap, got some black leaves and a few branches died back - they looked sad, but came back when the temps came up again and we were very tired of favas by the time I pulled them out. Good luck with them - I'm dreaming on eating them right now. :)

• gemini_jim
    11 years ago

I started some in small pots inside a few weeks ago. They quickly bumped into the lights, and I started trying to harden them off. I looked at the forecast on Monday: no freezing temps for 4 days, so I stuck them in the ground with milk jug cloches, figuring they would finish hardening off through the week. My heart sank when I saw the hard frost Tuesday morning! The plants looked very droopy, but by afternoon they had perked back up, with only a few black edges on some of the leaves. I think they're gonna make it!