Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dancinglemons

Runner Bean roots

dancinglemons
14 years ago

Hello,

I am new to runner beans and have a question. After the season is over in the fall -- can runner roots be lifted and held inside in a really cold room?? I have a really cold (40 degrees in mid winter) room in my unheated basement where I keep my fig trees. Would this be OK to keep the runner roots -or- should I just leave them in the ground and heavily mulch them?? I have access to tons of oak and maple leaves every fall (city trees).

Let me know what you think -and- if anyone has lifted runner roots please tell of your experience.

Thanks,

DL

Comments (9)

• flora_uk
    14 years ago

I have never lifted runner bean roots but they have occasionaly overwintered in my garden without my intervention. However, they will not survive if they freeze and this year we had a cold winter so I don't think there will be any survivors. I do not rely on them surviving because it is so iffy.

They are so easy to grow from seed it doesn't seem worth the hassle of lifting the roots. But it would make an interesting experiment. I should think that whatever works for dahlias would work for runner beans.

• happyday
    14 years ago

I'd like to see a photo of what runner bean roots are supposed to look like. I accidentally pulled one out while cleaning up the canes last fall, and it looked just like any other bean root. That is, it was thin and spindly and branched. I expected something like a rhizome or tuber.

• flora_uk
    14 years ago

Happyday - they look like rather skinny dahlia tubers. Don't know why yours didn't have them - maybe too young? I've never dug mine up to see when the tuber forms but they're certainly there by October/Novemberish when the beans finally give up.

• dancinglemons
    Original Author
    14 years ago

This is good info. I like to experiment so will try lifting a few just to see what happens.

DL

• mauirose
    14 years ago