Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brighty1

Which beans are best for Poles?

brighty
11 years ago

HI, I'm a newbie in the bean area. I want to plant some pole beans with my preschool class and was wondering what type of bean is best for polls. Any suggestions?

Thanks, Brighty

Comments (6)

• sweetquietplace
    11 years ago

What a great project! Perhaps a Blue Lake would be my choice for this. When they are ready, the children could pick them and eat them raw...tender, crisp, delicious.

• dlsm
    11 years ago

Brighty, what a wonderful learning project for the children. I would suggest planting several types of a few each. Green Beans, Limas, etc and different colors.

Good luck,
    Luther

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    11 years ago

Kids love purple, and are impressed by things that are worth bragging about. I would suggest "Chinese Red Noodle" yardlong beans... or for that matter, any yardlong bean. The pods enlarge & get even longer if allowed to get ripe, and look kind of like snakes at that stage... the kids would probably have a lot of fun with them.

A yellow pole bean like "Goldmarie" would probably be a hit too, or one of the purple Romano-type pole beans. Even one of the green-podded beans like "Fortex" would be interesting, it has pods up to 11" long. Both "Goldmarie" and "Fortex" are good eaten raw, especially when fresh picked.

• brighty
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you all so much! What wonderful ideas. They are going to have fun discovering all the different colors and sizes and eating them right off of the pole! I'm going to have fun too! :)

Brighty

• mcleod
    11 years ago