Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which beans are best for Poles?

Posted by brighty 9 CA (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 2, 13 at 12:18

HI, I'm a newbie in the bean area. I want to plant some pole beans with my preschool class and was wondering what type of bean is best for polls. Any suggestions?

Thanks, Brighty

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which beans are best for Poles?

What a great project! Perhaps a Blue Lake would be my choice for this. When they are ready, the children could pick them and eat them raw...tender, crisp, delicious.

o

• Posted by dlsm Z9b Titusville Fl (My Page) on
    Sat, Mar 2, 13 at 14:25

Brighty, what a wonderful learning project for the children. I would suggest planting several types of a few each. Green Beans, Limas, etc and different colors.

Good luck,
Luther

o

Kids love purple, and are impressed by things that are worth bragging about. I would suggest "Chinese Red Noodle" yardlong beans... or for that matter, any yardlong bean. The pods enlarge & get even longer if allowed to get ripe, and look kind of like snakes at that stage... the kids would probably have a lot of fun with them.

A yellow pole bean like "Goldmarie" would probably be a hit too, or one of the purple Romano-type pole beans. Even one of the green-podded beans like "Fortex" would be interesting, it has pods up to 11" long. Both "Goldmarie" and "Fortex" are good eaten raw, especially when fresh picked.

o

Thank you all so much! What wonderful ideas. They are going to have fun discovering all the different colors and sizes and eating them right off of the pole! I'm going to have fun too! :)

Brighty

o