Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
started_with_bean

Can I plant sugar snap and snow peas now? Warm here this week...

Started_with_bean
12 years ago

The weather is suppose to get in the 50s-60s during the day here in MA this week. Do you guys think I can start my peas now? I'm planning on putting them in big pots off my back porch. I just don't want to start them too late, in case we've got an early spring this year. This is my first year with peas, BTW.

Comments (14)

• denninmi
    12 years ago

I'm kind of debating the same question here in SE Michigan. A late arctic blast could take them out, but nothing ventured, nothing gained. I think it would be worth the risk to do at least a few.

If you're growing in pots anyway, if weather colder than mid to upper 20s threatens, perhaps you could move the pots into a garage or other sheltered spot?

It is about 3 weeks earlier than I've ever planted peas before, but I think I'm going to give it it a whirl and see what happens. I'll plant about 20% of the crop now and see, and wait until around the end of March to do the bulk of them.

• coconut_head
    12 years ago

I just did 500 Snow peas into a raised bed on Monday. Late cold snap be damned! $6 in seeds isn't that big of a hit to take.

• Started_with_bean
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I just planted half my sugar snaps and snow peas yesterday in a big pot. BUT, I was so excited and raring to go, that after I carefully lined up and spaced the seeds, and then carefully put about an inch of soil on top, I turned around to stare at my packet of unopened inoculant!! Yeah, stupid me! Well, I wasn't going to dig them all out again, so I just sprinkled the whole thing on top and crossed my fingers. Gave them a drink and put on my homemade squirrel proof cover.

• jludman
    12 years ago

I'm in southern NH, zone 5. The weather is not showing a single night below 40 in the next 2 weeks, and some days in the 70s.