Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pommy445

Soybeans? Snow peas?

pommy445
16 years ago

I'm currently starting some soybeans, and I'm quite new at gardening. I've looked on the net at some sources but unfortunately they all say different things.

Some tell me that they want full sun, some say partial shade.

It's pretty much summer all year-round here (Hawaii) and the sun is much more intense as compared to most other places in the world. So, where in the yard should I plant the soybeans?

Also, my snow pea has white-ish markings on the leaves. I'll post a picture as soon as possible, but I'm not sure if it's natural or if it's a disease. It's much lighter than the normal color of the plants, and some of the markings are like elongated spots. Any ideas?

Any tips on starting soybeans as well?

Comments (4)

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

There are soybeans grown in Hawaii, most of which would be impossible for me in my Northern Midwest location, soybean fan though I am. The Asian cultivars sold commercially (especially the black-seeded varieties) will probably perform best there. Give them full sun if at all possible; even minor shade will reduce yields. And while Hawaii may have summer year-round, soybeans are daylength-sensitive, so you might want to check with the U of H for the best planting times.

• Macmex
    16 years ago

Pommy, soy should be grown in full sun. Just plant them about an inch deep, in well worked soil, and keep them moist until they come up. They are pretty trouble free after they are up.