Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tatianahdz

Black and/or Pinto Beans?

tatianahdz
16 years ago

Hi guys! I'm new to gardening and have myself a nice little vegetable garden started. Just trying to figure this stuff out and grow some of our favorite foods. I was thinking it would be neat to try growing some type of beans, because we eat them fairly often. We especially like black and pinto beans, but we eat a lot of red beans as well. However, I keep reading that heat and humidity can make it hard to grow beans, so I was hoping you guys could tell me whether it would even be worth trying to grow them in Zone 9? If so, which type is easiest? TIA for your help!!!

Comments (2)

• farmerdilla
    16 years ago

Pintos are probably the easiest, altho Black Turtle and several cultivars of red beans ( usually associated with Mexico) do well in hot climates like the southwest.

• carolync1
    16 years ago

Pinto beans are grown commercially in Idaho. Where in Zone 9 are you? How hot is your hot weather?

One mistake new gardeners make is to get over-ambitious. It takes a lot of ground and work to grow significant amounts of dried beans at home. But I think it is worthwhile to try some of your favorite varieties if you're going to use them as fresh-shelled beans: "shellies". If it's real hot in summer where you live, you have the choice of planting beans in spring so they will set before hot weather, or planting in about August.