Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bloomin_onion

Beans and Transplant shock?

Bloomin_Onion
9 years ago

Hi all, new here, from Southern Manitoba, Canada. :) I put down the zip code for Pembina, ND as my zone because it's about an hour and a half drive south of my house, the site couldn't recognize Canadian postal codes. But the weather is on average about 3-5 degrees cooler year round in contrast to Northern North Dakota. (cold lol)

I have zero experience with growing most of anything, but did lots of research before starting. I got all "MacGyver" one day and built an indoor greenhouse and went and bought some "full spectrum sun lights" by "SunBlaster and have grown from seed:
Beans
Cucumber
Tomato
Green beans (anyone know what "stringless beans are? rod or bush?")
Yellow Squash
Green Squash
Bell Peppers
Basil, Dill, Parsley, Lavender and a few Sunflowers.

My designated gardening area beside my condo is a long, skinny lot of soil about 18' X 4'. It's already had stuff grown in it, when we moved in the last tenant left fruiting cucumbers and tomatoes. The soil is dark and rich (probably had some topsoil added to it)

Ok so we planted the seeds in 18"long X 9"wide X 2"deep flats and they grew to like 1"-4" tall depending on the plant. The beans were the quickest to grow, and yesterday I transplanted them into their own little pots. I don't think I'll ever use seed flats again, because all the roots had spread out and created a lightly bound root "carpet" under the soil. They were all like this, but especially the Beans! The roots went all the way across the flat in only 2 weeks of indoor growth, and transplanting made me think of what Gastrointestinal surgery must have been like in the 1800's. It was just brutal, and now my beans are in shock even though I tried not to damage the roots.