Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How many beans on a plant?

Posted by dianega 7 - ATL (My Page) on
Mon, May 17, 10 at 10:56

This is a dumb newbie question, but roughly how many beans grow on each bush bean plant? I'm growing Dragon Tongue, and no idea how many I should plant. Ex. how many plants would it take to produce a good bowlful for a family of 4?

I plan on some additional plantings since I am under the impression that they bear the beans all at once.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How many beans on a plant?

Hello. I am no expert but can only reply from experience. Bush beans will produce a couple of times then when it is really hot not produce at all.

last year I planted 9 bush bean plants. I easily picked a nice sized bowl 2x a week for about 2 months.

o

Dianega,

Dragon Tongue is one bush bean that doesn't produce all at once. For me, it keeps producing all the way until a killing frost.

I really don't know how it will do in your southern heat, so I also don't know how many plants you would need.

I hope they do well for you. If not, I recommend "Rattlesnake", a super productive pole bean, that can really take the heat.

Gary

o

Plan on planting a row about 20 feet long with 2 plants per foot to have enough beans to serve one meal per day. Wait 3 or 4 weeks and plant another row the same length. They will overlap so for a while you will have more beans than you need. Freezing is a good way to handle the excess.

DarJones

o

from own experience and a lot of reading from tests state agricultural agencies (similar to extension offices in the USA - they are run by the states here in Germany): bush bean yields are 2 to 2.5 kg per sq meter over a period of 3 or more weeks. I always grow rows 1 foot apart 3 seeds per foot, either 1 every 4 inches or in groups of 3 every foot. In 1 pdf I read that commercial growers like 34 plants per square meter, my pattern is at 33.3, so not that far away.