Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pommes_gw

When to plant out bush beans

pommes
13 years ago

Hello, I'm a beginner so I have a stupid question that I should know already.

I have some French dwarf, bush beans and some pole beans I started indoors.

When should I plant these guys outside? Here in Austria we are having a heavy rain spell for a week and the night temperatures are expected to drop in the mid, high 40's.

So it's very wet and colder than usual for this time of month.

Should I wait till the end of May or so?

Another Problem? Many of my plants have turned kind of a yellowship green color and 2 of the pole beans have light brown spots on the lower leaves and around the edges. Is this bacteria or blight already?

The yellowship green leaves kind of have a stiff, lifeless texture to them although they're not dead, of course.

Hope these beans aren't already on death row before they even make it out to the garden.

Thanks for any expertise.

Comments (11)

• anney
    13 years ago

pommes

A picture of your bean plight would be helpful.

Yellowing leaves while something is being grown inside is usually a sign of overwatering. OR it could be that the plants need a very LIGHT sprinkling of diluted fertilizer if they're several weeks old. The yellowing is probably unrelated to the spots on the leaves unless they, too, are due to overwatering. See if cutting back on water helps any.

Soil temperature is the best measure of when to plant beans or any crop as a matter of fact. If your soil is consistently 65 degrees Fahrenheit or warmer, you can plant beans at any time with the exception of limas and cowpeas, which need much warmer temps, about 10-15 degrees warmer! It doesn't sound like you're growing those!

If you need reminding, harden off all inside-grown plants before setting them outside.