Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bought some fresh peas, can I save/dry them?

Posted by spaghetina Zone 10 (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 20, 09 at 1:50

note: I also posted this over in the seed saving forum, but it doesn't seem to get very much action, so I thought I might ask here also. My apologies if that's frowned upon (and if it is, someone please let me know).

My favorite farm stand has the absolute best fresh English peas I've ever eaten. The pods are huge (about 6"), and the peas inside are almost always tender, crisp, large, and sweet.

Today, I went and picked up about 5 lbs. to eat raw (I'd rather sit with a bag of peas than a bag of chips), and a few were a bit old and beginning to split. I put them aside thinking maybe I could dry and save them to plant in the fall.

(Stupid sounding question, I know, but this is my first year gardening, so bear with me, lol.) Is is even possible to save the peas from something I bought and plant them later? Would I need younger peas than ones that are splitting, or is it ideal to have them be as old as they are? I did a search, and found a bit of info about drying beans, but I think that might be something different??

How would I go about saving these peas? I have about 30 of them sitting there with the pods cracked open right now.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bought some fresh peas, can I save/dry them?

The odds are that fresh English peas or any other type of pea for that matter are not developed enough. Green shellies are used in the immature stage. For seed the pods need to dry on the vine. Your best bet is to ask the vendor the cultivar name and go from there.

o

Peas that are in the right stage for eating as green peas are immature. That's why they have to be picked promptly before they get old and starchy.

For seed they need to mature on the vine until the peas themselves are rock hard and the pods are dry, papery, and crisp.

o