Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is it too late to start over?

Posted by Daisyjoy5 7 _ NW GA (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 5, 14 at 9:24

This is my first year ever growing beans. I planted three types of beans on 04/24 - two types of pole beans and one bush bean. None of the bush beans have come up at all, and a lot of the pole beans did but were eaten or just didn't grow. I'm not really sure where I went wrong, since when they first sprouted it looked like it was going to go well. But now I only have about 5 or 6 plants growing on the trellis.

I live in NW GA - seeing as it's already June, I was wondering if it would be too late to try and plant more in the spaces that didn't produce. I'm really not sure how many beans I'll get out of those few that are growing, and I hope it's at least enough for a dinner!

I'd really like to try the bush beans again but I'm worried it's too late to start at this point. Same for the pole beans. I have seeds left over still. Should I just deal with what I have? I can't seem to find out how long it takes from sowing to harvesting.

I'm really regretting thinning my early risers out now - I planted every 3" and thinned to 6" but then lost over half of that. So sad.

Last question, and it's possibly a stupid one, but is there a way to speed up the process if I *do* plant more seeds now?

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is it too late to start over?

I hope it's not too late for pole beans. I haven't put in any yet and I'm about to just as soon as I can get to them.

Bush beans are definitely not too late yet. They take two months to produce the first wave, then another week or two for the second wave and they're done pretty much. I'd plant bush beans all the way up through the end of July without worrying about them. It's kind of warm, but would be cooler when picking.

o