Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisyjoy5

What should I do differently next year?

daisyjoy5
9 years ago

This is my first year growing beans. I love my bean patch, but it seems as if it's a bit of a struggle overall. Initially only about 1/3 of the seeds I planted actually grew, so I re-worked the soil and re-planted in the empty areas about a month and a half later than the first round.

It just seems that the ones that are growing are... thin. When comparing to some of the pictures on this forum, it seems like there should be a lot more leaves.

I still need to add string where the new growth is, but here's a general idea of how things stand now. Sorry in advance for the multiple posts but I cannot seem to figure out how to put two pictures within one post.

In any case, I feel like I must be doing something wrong. I planted seeds, thinned them out (still need to thin the new bush beans), watched them grow. Sort of. :) I'd appreciate any advice, and I'm happy to answer any questions.

Comments (8)

• daisyjoy5
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's my biggest bean so far.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

Could be a lack of light. Your garden seem close to the trees. Also you have sown them quite far apart. I think you have put them twice as thick.

• daisyjoy5
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Actually that spot gets pretty much full sun - from about 11am to 8pm this time of year.

I initially sowed every 3" but then thinned to 6", which is what the directions said to do. But after doing that, I wondered why they couldn't be a little closer. Seems like after looking at other pictures, most folks plant fairly close together?

I have a small half row of bush beans which you can barely see behind the leaves in this picture (blurry). I also planted them every few inches but I think I may need to thin those too. Do you think they could be transplanted instead?

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    9 years ago