Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mandolls

Beans that can handle shade?

mandolls
11 years ago

Are there any varieties of pole beans, or bush beans that do well with only 4-6 hours of direct sun?

I am assuming that that is the issue with my beans this year. They are alive, and growing, but the emerites are only a single vine 3-4 ft, a bit spindly and with 3-5 beans a piece on them. My bush (rocdor, maxibell & burgundy) are also just not what I had hoped for. They are making beans, but the plants are smaller and spindlier than expected. This is all in an area of the garden where in the past cucumbers, lettuce, cabbage & arugula have all done well.

Or...........is it just early in the season and they will continue to grow and produce? Any pictures that I see show bigger more robust plants.

I am new to beans, but I dont think its an issue with soil or water.

Comments (8)

• sweetquietplace
    11 years ago

I'm in the Western NC mountains and my beans are lucky to get 4-6 hours of direct sun. They do great however. If you haven't had beans in that spot previously, did you remember to innoculate them? That really makes a difference in performance.

• mandolls
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I did not inoculate them. I did mix a good bit of composted manure into the soil and have been fertilizing, but with a low nitrogen organic fert.(2.5.1)

I will try giving them a shot of high nitrogen fertilizer and see if that helps. I assume that it wouldnt help to add inoculant now.

I was in Highland/Franklin NC at the beginning of June - what a beautiful area of the country to live in!

• sweetquietplace
    11 years ago