Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whidbeyislander

Bean plants very yellow

whidbeyislander
16 years ago

I've never grown beans before, so I planted a bunch of different kinds of beans... most are pole beans. They just started comming up and now some are 3-4 inches tall, some are smaller, but I'm noticing that some of them are very very yellow. Does this mean that we're talking about some kind of soil defficiency? or some disease? Or are some bean plants like that? I mean it could be a nitrogen defficiency, that soil where they're planted is pretty crappy, but I thought that beans can get nitrogen from the air. Anyway, I sure hope they do ok, because I've never done this before.

Comments (23)

• UncleJohn
    16 years ago

I am hardly a bean expert myself, but I doubt that it is nitrogen deficiency. As you said they do get nitrogen from the air (ideally you should treat the seed with that bacterium that fixes the nitrogen they make into the soil). Possibly they are too wet and or cold?

• chaman
    16 years ago

Another reason for yellowing of bean leaves could be deficiency of micro nutrients like iorn etc.Chelated iorn does help in this kind of problem. It contains some more micro nutrients required by plants.I have been using this product regularly every year.

• kek19
    16 years ago

mine are yellow too!

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    16 years ago

As an ex-Whidbey Islander (I was stationed at the Navy base in the 70's) I know how cool the summers can be there, with the cold wind blowing off the Sound... and the clouds can hang on for days. Neither situation is optimal for healthy bean growth. I only grew bush beans there, against the south wall of the house, where they benefited from the extra heat.

If your weather has been poor lately, your beans are probably chlorotic (yellowed) as a result. Hopefully, when sun & warmth return, they will recover.