Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dlsm_gw

Shelled Black Jungle Butter Beans.

dlsm
12 years ago

Hi Everyone,

Here is a picture of a 13 X 9 dish full of black jungle butter beans. These are going in my freezer.

The bean really produces a nice size shell, with up to 4 large beans in each one. When picking the beans, each spike will have a hand full. I will grow these each year in the future.

The end product.

This is my first year of growing these beans.

Luther

Comments (65)

• dlsm
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I have a squirrel that has developed a taste for my butter beans. I'm afraid he will bring his whole family over for daily dinners. So I'm gonna trap him and release him across the Indian river on the Canaveral National Seashore.

My mutilated beans

He gets on top of my trellis and extracts the beans from the pods/shells.

Luther

• cindy_eatonton
    12 years ago

Hi Luther,

I feel your pain - we have squirrels that have been decimating our pears this year. Last year they started on the pears, moved to the tomatoes and wiped out the harvest - we got a few dozen out of 30 plants. :( We tried trap and release - they got wise to the trap. I wish you luck!

Cindy

• dlsm
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Cindy, That is why I'm taking them across the wide Indian river. This way they can't find their way back.

Sorry to hear about your bad luck with the critters. Sounds like they wiped out your tomato crop. I guess I'm lucky just to have some butter beans eaten.

I hope everyone is getting their share of rain. We are getting a deluge here almost daily.

They did manage to launch the last Shuttle thru the clouds today, before the rains set in. I just barely could see it from my yard. Had to go inside to see the launch again on TV.

Luther

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    12 years ago