Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
engk916

fortex

engk916
14 years ago

this is my first year growing fortex, and while i love the beans, the yields are atrocious! i don't have a lot of trellis space, so the number of plants i can have are pretty fixed. how can i improve the yields? any advice would be much appreciated for this newbie.

thanks,

engk916

Comments (12)

• jimster
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Fortex didn't seem particularly low yielding when I grew it last year. Are you comparing it with other pole beans or with bush beans? I ask because the yield of pole beans is spread out uniformly, while bush beans bear in a concentrated, shorter flush.

Jim

• engk916
    Original Author
    14 years ago

maybe that's it! i'm also growing the 'provider' bean which is a bush type, and we've eaten many more of those beans. how many plants would i need for a family of 5? fwiw, i'm also growing sugar snap pea, and i've gotten several meals out of maybe 12 plants which is perfect for us.

• jimster
    14 years ago

A good plan is to have some bush beans for a quick, early crop. Provider sounds like a good one, though I have yet to grow it. My bush bean this year is Tender Pod, recommended by another GWer.

Then grow pole beans, such as Fortex, for the long haul. I like Fortex a lot. But there are so many pole beans and so little time. It's fun to explore.

Jim

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    14 years ago

I am astonished at the number of gardeners having problems with "Fortex" this year. It is my favorite bean - bush or pole - due to its good cool-soil germination, disease resistance, and great flavor. I have always considered it to be the closest thing to fool-proof pole bean.