Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Going to try growing edamame for first time

Posted by iamzvonko 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 20, 12 at 22:07

Hello,

I'm pretty new to gardening. Started last year and it went so well, I doubled the size of my garden this year.

Went a little overboard with the green beans and my wife said "hey, we like eating edamame. Can't you grow those?" So I thought I'd try it.

Is it too late to plant them? I'm in northern Ohio (zone 5). Any tips/tricks I should be aware of as I try this?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Going to try growing edamame for first time

It's not too late for edamame, but you would get the best results with an early variety, such as "Agate" or "Envy". With a little luck, you might even get some dry seed from them. Later varieties might still give you edamame too, but it would be close to the end of the season... so you would be hoping for a warm Fall.

o

Well, I went ahead and bought some seeds from the local nursery. I planted about 10 "spots" and put 3 seeds in each spot.

Three weeks later I'm only seeing a sprout from ONE of the spots. I went back to the nursery and asked them about it and the lady tells me that I wasn't watering them enough. I'm fairly new to this so I can't say for sure, but her explanation seemed kind of bogus.

The one sprout that has come up looks great. It has 3 really nice looking leaves and keeps growing.

Her explanation was that I wasn't watering enough so the roots were coming too close to the top because that's where the moisture is and then they dried out. I watered the whole area the same so I can't understand why one of them would grow so well and the others not.

Thinking about this made me remember reading something in a book or on web about how you're supposed to do something to the seeds before planting them. Of course, I can't remember the details.