Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deanriowa

Asparagus beans for northern climates

deanriowa
15 years ago

This is my first year trying to grow asparagus beans. I am growing a packet of unnamed asparagus beans from Lake Valley seeds.

I understand some beans are daylight sensitive. I am in Northeastern Iowa in zone 4b. What kind of asparagus beans will grow good in my climate?

thanks,

Dean

Comments (27)

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    15 years ago

There are two legumes that I have heard referred to as "asparagus bean"; winged beans & yardlongs.

Winged beans (Psophocarpus tatragonolobus) are tropical, and usually daylength sensitive. There are a few sold in the U.S. that are supposedly day-neutral (such as "Hunan") but even they require a long season to produce pods... perhaps they are only less daylength sensitive. If I start them early in peat strips & the weather in late summer is warm, I can usually harvest pods for several weeks before frost... but dry seed is out of the question.

Yardlong beans (Vigna unguiculata) are commonly called asparagus beans, because some varieties taste very similar to asparagus when lightly cooked. While there are tropical varieties that have daylength sensitivity (I have seed for two of them), most of those sold in the U.S. are day-neutral. They are heat-loving plants, but given that, most can produce pods in 70-80 days or so.

The black-seeded yardlongs (such as "Liana") are the quickest & most cool-weather tolerant. Red-seeded varieties can take a little longer, especially the red/purple podded cultivars like "Chinese Red Noodle". I have collected a few Philippine varieties with bi-colored seed, usually brown or brick-red, with white or tan patches on the end.