Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lakedallasmary

Are there any major differences in the various purple hull peas

lakedallasmary
16 years ago

There seems to be many different type of purple hull cowpeas. Like Mississippi pink eye, purple hull, pinkeye purple hull. I am sure there are more, but I am new to gardening so I don't know all that there are.

Anyway, does it matter which you get, or are they all pretty much the same?

Actually I have the same question for all the cowpea types like, are all the creams pretty much the same? And do on with black eyes, crowders, etc.

I don't think I will live long enough to grow out all the black eyed peas out there. So, if they are all pretty much the same with in groups, I could know, if I say don't like the flavor of cream peas or they don't grow well for me here, I can concentrate my efforts on other groups, and not keep growing creams expecting something different from different varieties.

I know this question seems silly, so just humor me. I think that I just over think things. I should just try stuff and not worry about all the what ifs.

Mary

Comments (43)

• farmerdilla
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

1. Yes there are some major difference in purple hulls. The pink eye purple hulls are more like Blackeye peas in shape and size. The knuckle purple hull is a medium large Brown crowder. Brown crowders have a stronger flavor.
    2. Cream peas come in all sizes and shapes from the tiny Lady and White Acre to the Zipper. Ther are also both bush and running types.
    3. Crowders also have a large variation in size and color. They overlap with 1 and 2. main chacteristic is the crowing in the hull that results in the characteristic shape. They range in color from cream to solid black. Darker ones like the black crowder have the tendency to make a dark broth when cooked.