Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
The Chinese Red Noodle have arrived!!

Posted by dancinglemons 7+ (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 24, 08 at 2:49

I know this is supposed to be a question -but- I am excited!! I have my first flush of Chinese Red Noodle Long Beans. I have been harvesting the other long beans for quite some time. In 2009 the Red Noodle will go in earlier or get started inside.

DL

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: The Chinese Red Noodle have arrived!!

Glad to hear it! I'm still waiting, although they are starting to flower. I got a late start with them. This is my first year growing them. How did you cook them?

o

booberry85,

Have not cooked them yet - waiting until I get a larger amount. I am thinking about stirfry with some winter melon - don't know yet am still reading recipes.

DL

o

How did your Chinese Red Noodle beans turn out?

What recipe did your finally decide to use?

I am looking at growing these for 2009 as well. I will probably start them inside to give them a head start.

Do these plants get very leafy? I am going to grow them on a trellis and I would like the trellis to look filled out, so I am wondering about spacing.

thanks,
Dean

o

Dean, the "Red Noodle" plants are very reluctant climbers, and will need a considerable amount of training, compared to other pole beans. But once they get started, they will fill the trellis. I plant mine 12-15" apart.
Photobucket

o

Have cooked the Red Noodle several times since they first started to come in. Mostly stirfry in small amount of oil with bacon -or- chicken stock.

BUT THEN...............