Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenmtngal14

Dry bean (black and cattle) harvesting help!!

greenmtngal14
11 years ago

Alright, this is my first year growing *dry* beans. I have a plethora of cattle beans and black beans that are slowly drying on the plant.

I harvested maybe 50 pods a few days ago as it was supposed to rain for 3 days (and it did) and they were almost drying. I laid them out on a tarp in a spare bedroom with a fan blowing over them. Now the pods are molding!!

Did I do this wrong? Should the moldy ones meet their demise in the trash? Can I still salvage the good ones.

Can I finish drying them in the oven or my dehydrator? I'd like to keep as many as I can!

Thanks for the help!!!

Comments (3)

• pnbrown
    11 years ago

I leave them on the plants until mid to late fall, never seems to be a problem. It is very wet here now as well so we'll see how it goes with the dry legumes.

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    11 years ago

Greenmtngal, it sounds like you did everything right. Picking dry (and nearly dry) pods when rain is expected can minimize spoilage, and make the difference between a good harvest, and a mediocre one. Placing the pods under a fan to dry was also the right thing to do. If the pods were nearly dry when picked, I'm a little mystified as to the reason for the mold. Were the pods in a single layer?

"Can I finish drying them in the oven or my dehydrator?"

That depends on whether the beans will be for eating, or for saving seed. If for eating only, then drying in the dehydrator, or in the oven on its lowest setting, is OK.