Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
booberry85

Most Productive Beans 2009

booberry85
14 years ago

So what were your most productive beans this year?

For the second year in a row, mine has been Cherokee Trail of Tears. Despite lousy weather, bunnies, deer, slugs & snails, these still put on a good show for me. The biggest loser for me this year has been Chinese Green Noodle. We just never got the heat they crave.

Comments (10)

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    14 years ago

No contest, Cherokee Trail of Tears, in fact they're still producing. Next the beans (the seed came from Italy) that I've been growing for over 40 years, Mr. Tung's Beans came in a close third. I had a couple Gold Marie seeds given to me so these have just been grown for seed.

Annette

• rxkeith
    14 years ago

uncle steve is nearly always at the top for me.
    meraviglia di venezia has been good, but now fizzling.
    neckar gold planted late is producing well.

that would be the top 3 for me this year.

keith

• zebraman
    14 years ago

I grew a couple of dozen varieties but the top producers were
    1. Yellow Indian Woman (actually from Sweden)
    2. Hidatsa Shield Figure (pole)
    3. Scarlet Runner (2nd year roots) always produce huge crops the second year

• dancinglemons
    14 years ago

Yard-long bean from John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds catalog called Orient Wonder. They gave a prolific harvest then began to "regrow" from the base of the plants and are giving a second prolific harvest which is still going and going and going........ The plants are so vigorous that they are using the trellis, the beans and anything that stands still to wind around!

According to the catalog this is a Japanese long bean. All I can say is WOW!!

DL

• tcstoehr
    14 years ago

Helda's been my best so far. But I've never tried any of these wild and exotic varieties I keep hearing about in this forum.

• obrionusa
    14 years ago