Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caflowerluver

Striped bean name?

caflowerluver
15 years ago

I have been growing them since 1986. I got the seeds from a neighbor, who got them when he visited Italy in 1977. They are purple striped, grow very tall and produce a lot of beans. Even when they get very big they are still tender and are stringless. I am just wondering what to call them when I do trades. Someone suggested Rattlesnake but that has strings and this one doesn't even when very large.

Thanks.

Clare

{{gwi:112829}}

Comments (9)

• farmerdilla
    15 years ago

Ther are quite a few striped cultivars but most of them have strings. Lady of the Field ( Seeds of Italy) fits your description as it is touted as stringless.

• caflowerluver
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the name. I looked it up and it says, "Climbing, stringless green pods with red striations. Meaty, slightly curved pods." These have dark purple stripes and are straight, rarely ever curved so not sure if they are them or not.
    Clare

• P POD
    15 years ago

Clare, thanks for posting the pic and bringing a new bean to the attention of the bean-forum readers.

I'd like to know more, and hope you have time to answer some questions....
    ÂAs a snap, does it have an assertive beany taste, or is it mild tasting?
    ÂWhen mature, what color and size are the seeds?
    ÂAt the mature stage, do the pods change color and become red striped? (If so, do you think it's a Borlotto bean? Just a wild guess, not knowing whether Borlotti ever are stringless snaps). Ingegnoli's web site lists a few. (Assuming "nano" are bush.) Seeds of Italy (GB) lists quite a few bush types, but the descriptions are lackluster.

ÂAre your stripers good shellies?
    ÂGood cooked as dry beans?

ÂAny pics of mature, dry pods and seeds that you could post?

ÂAnd do your stripers freeze well (as snaps), or perhaps not so well?

Looking forward to hearing more about your unique bean.