Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vtguitargirl

Frost tonite - pick dry beans?

vtguitargirl
16 years ago

I'm growing Jacob's Cattle and Soldier Beans. I've picked the pods that are brown, and the beans inside are dry, though I am letting they dry out some more (in a bowl in the kitchen) to be on the safe side before I put them into jars.

My concern is this: Tonight we may get a frost, and most of the bean pods are full, but still very green. Do I: 1)pick them tonight & let them dry in the house? 2)Cover them with a sheet or plastic and not harvest them until the pods are brown? or 3)do something entirely different?

I *do* have a food dehydrator. Could I use that?

This is my first time growing beans of any sort, so any advice will be appreciated.

Comments (10)

• farmerdilla
    16 years ago

I am assuming you are expecting a light frost with Indian summer yet to come and the bean pods have not yet changed color. I would suggest covering them with an old bedsheet or something similar. Plastic does not give much protection unless held up off the plants. With a killing frost, you will have frost bite wherever the plastic touches the plant.

• vtguitargirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Yes, more warm fall days will follow.

Will try the bed sheet.

Thanks!

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin
    16 years ago

I just went through the same situation three days ago, when a very early frost killed most of my beans. My advice is this:

If it is at all practical, cover the plants to protect them. This should allow most of the pods to ripen, once the weather warms. Keep in mind, you would need to remove the cover as soon as the frost melts, or the sun could cook the plants to death. If you (or someone else) will be unable to remove the cover promptly, you might want to harvest all that is usable instead.