Return to the Beans, Peas & Other Legumes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
number of bean plants

Posted by purnima z9CA (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 21, 10 at 18:13

Hi,

I have been planting around 6 plants for the last 2 years but have not been able to "stock up the freezer" as someone put it. I get a good crop to feed a family of 4 for 2-3 months. Do I need to plant many more plants? I live in CA in the SF Bay area.
Purnima

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: number of bean plants

well, you certainly need more than 6 plants to stock up the freezer for a family of four. how many depends on the variety of bean, the appetite of your family, and the vagaries of the weather from year to year. what kind of bean do you grow, and how much space do you have to grow them? if you want to freeze a bunch to eat over the winter, you may need to triple or quadruple what you are growing.can you fill us in a bit?

keith

o

I have been growing Kentucky wonder pole beans. I have a 3X 12 raised bed and grow tomatoes and cucumbers. There is space enough to double but I was just curious. I am planning to build another raised bed and so was thinking about it.
Thanks.

o

I plant 50 seeds. The season can get shortened real quick...and, if it doesn't...I've got enough for the year and plenty to give away.

o

I plant about 1/2 pound. 2 oz for me, 6oz for the deer.....

o

Purnima, aren't Kentucky wonder poles great? they do really well here, I am a bit south of you, same zone. I usually put 10-12 seeds for three or four kinds of snap beans, and then a whole lot more of course for shellies and dry beans. I never have enough of either. I like to freeze shellies but not snaps, I pickle those. I do freeze snow peas though, they taste good to me even that way. I still have some in the freezer from the winter. I went crazy and put about 60 seeds, they all produced for about 3-4 months. Oh and it is just two of us, but we give lots to friends and family.

o