Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
purnima_gw

number of bean plants

purnima
13 years ago

Hi,

I have been planting around 6 plants for the last 2 years but have not been able to "stock up the freezer" as someone put it. I get a good crop to feed a family of 4 for 2-3 months. Do I need to plant many more plants? I live in CA in the SF Bay area.

Purnima

Comments (12)

• rxkeith
    13 years ago

well, you certainly need more than 6 plants to stock up the freezer for a family of four. how many depends on the variety of bean, the appetite of your family, and the vagaries of the weather from year to year. what kind of bean do you grow, and how much space do you have to grow them? if you want to freeze a bunch to eat over the winter, you may need to triple or quadruple what you are growing.can you fill us in a bit?

keith

• purnima
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I have been growing Kentucky wonder pole beans. I have a 3X 12 raised bed and grow tomatoes and cucumbers. There is space enough to double but I was just curious. I am planning to build another raised bed and so was thinking about it.
    Thanks.

• forpityssake
    13 years ago

I plant 50 seeds. The season can get shortened real quick...and, if it doesn't...I've got enough for the year and plenty to give away.

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    13 years ago

I plant about 1/2 pound. 2 oz for me, 6oz for the deer.....

• cabrita
    13 years ago