Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aftermidnight_gw

My Italian Beans 3 pictures.

I've been growing this bean for over 40 years. A neighbor gave me a feed of beans to try (loved them) and said if you like them I'll give you some seed, this was back in 65. So since 1966 I've been saving just enough seed to grow the following year plus a few more for insurance.

I was told it was brought over from Italy to Vancouver Island in the early 1900's, somewhere I have the name of the person and the year but can't put my fingers on it at the moment.

Any ideas on which one this might be?

{{gwi:1019737}}
{{gwi:1034427}}
{{gwi:1034428}}

Annette

Comments (26)

• rxkeith
    14 years ago

annette

similar story, similar bean here.

i have pole beans given to me by my great uncle steve. he was born in sicily and came here in the early 1900s. i have been growing them for over 35 years. your pictures look VERY similar to my bean. learning the true name may be very difficult at this point in time. i would be willing to swap some seeds with you so we could compare them if you have any to spare. let me know.

keith

• happyday
    14 years ago

Does the pod turn mostly red, then dark purple over buff when dried? It might be Lingua di Fuoco (tongue of fire) I got mine from Thompson and Morgan but you can buy from Seeds From Italy, the US distributor of Seeds Of Italy.

See quick pictures here

Actually there are several named varieties that it could be related to originally. Since it left Italy so long ago, it could now be considered a separate variety. Maybe you could name it and offer to trade it? I'd trade you some Ma Williams or Lingua Di Fuoco for it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Seeds from Italy

• aftermidnight Zone7b B.C. Canada
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Keith, I sent you an email.