Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tumblingtomatoes

Cherokee Trail of Tears, Dragon's Tongue& Shrimp Beans

tumblingtomatoes
15 years ago

Hi new at this......have a question.......

Can someone tell me about the taste of Cherokee Trail of tears beans, Dragon's Tongue beans & Stortino Di Trento (annelino crescent/shrimp) beans?

How are they best prepared (pods edible?), would they grow well in Florida (Central/Space Coast area) & what are good/reputable company to order from?

Do these cross polinate if planted close together (small garden)?

Thanks

Comments (8)

• Macmex
    15 years ago

I believe they are all in the same scientific family and can cross. But if you give them, say 15' distance and save seed from plant farthest from other types, you can probably save seed.

I don't know about growing them in your area as I have no experience there. I did grow the Dragon Tongue beans back in the 80s. They were delicious. They were, however, less susceptible to weevils than any other bean I've grown. Still, I've seen MANY positive reviews about this bean.

I have not grown the Cherokee Trail of Tears bean. But many here have. Hopefully someone will give you input on it.

George
    Tahlequah, OK

• blueflint
    15 years ago

The Cherokee TOT bean is a very good producer, somewhat tolerant of drought conditions and young pods are tender. Seed Savers Exchange has this for sale and it is the proper/correct seed. I can also help you with seed if you contact me by email at alwest_83@yahoo.com

Blueflint

• tumblingtomatoes
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Blueflint, will email you!

• albionwood
    15 years ago