Return to the Growing under Lights Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
led grow lights vs regular leds

Posted by luchezars none (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 6:54

Hi,

I am new to growing plants indoors or growing plants anywhere for that matter. I have a question about led grow lights. My understanding is that they combine the red light spectrum which plants need for flowering and the blue light spectrum which plants need for vegetative growth. Is there anything else that is peculiar to grow lights and can't I just use a regular LED in the blue spectrum (5 W, around 6000 - 6500 K)and a regular incandescent (20 W) bulb to achieve the same results?

Thanks. I appreciate your help.

This post was edited by luchezars on Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 9:33

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: led grow lights vs regular leds

Good Luck for your growth. There are not any peculiar grow light, you can use a regular LED light in blue for vegging and red for flower to achieve same results.

o

• Posted by dsws none (My Page) on
    Mon, Jan 28, 13 at 16:16

Plants can use the whole spectrum, but they use red most efficiently and they need some blue to avoid getting leggy and so on. If LED grow lights live up to their labeling, they theoretically should give the lowest possible electric bill while still providing adequate light to your plants. But that has to be weighed against the up-front cost.

That's in theory. I don't have the practical experience to say much.

A 20W incandescent doesn't use much electricity, but it also doesn't put out much light. A 13W CFL from the dollar store would give more, and it's so cheap it would probably pay for itself before it burns out, even off that dinky 7W savings. A 5W LED should give more light than the incandescent, at least. But even with LED efficiency, 5W isn't much.

o

How do I know how much light a plants needs (not in terms of hours)? For example, what can I grow with a 240-lumen LED?

o