Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momof3wildboys

Lights of America Grow Lights from Walmart

momof3wildboys
14 years ago

This is my first time growing seeds and I was looking for the cheapest way. I found these at Walmart (10.00 a piece). I plan on using 2 per shelf (side by side) and place seedlings directly under them.

Are these going to be good enough? Should I only use 1 per shelf?

www.esplighting.com/7020gl.html

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• struwwelpeter
    14 years ago

That is not a bargain. Not that it would fit your shelf, but, the typical "on sale" price of a shoplight that uses two 40 watt tubes is about $10 and the "on sale" price of cool white tubes is $1 - $2.

At equal input wattages, there is little difference in plant growth rates between different fluorescent lights, e.g., warm white, cool white, "plant light" etc.

You would be better off using two 26 watt compact fluorescent (CFL) lights that can be bought for $1 - $2 (I bought $1 26 watt CFL Lights of America from Walmart). Sockets for mounting on your shelves will probably cost around $5. You should mount the bulbs horizontally to provide more vertical space for your plants.

• amigatec
    14 years ago

I use these lights myself, and they do work, but I plan to overdrive them, and install T8 tubes.

I use 3 on a 2X4 shelf.

• jds912
    14 years ago