Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathyzn5

Are these grow lights adequate?

kathyzn5
18 years ago

Hi all, newbie here. Can anybody tell me if the Phillips T-8 32 watt lights are ok for seed starting? I have one cool white and one natural sunlight flourescent bulb in each fixture. I plan to start several hundred seeds, mostly salvia, this year. I need to buy several more fixtures and bulbs but want your advice before spending $$$$. Thanks Kathy

Comments (9)

• jwmeyer
    18 years ago

I start my vege. seeds under a 10.00 walmart warm flourecent sigle bulb...When about 2" they go under a 400cmh
    Take a look....Actually I tryed starting salvia and had no luck? I can do vegies but maybe salvia needs something special?

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:51469}}

• npthaskell
    18 years ago

I recently switched from normal output GE "T12 40W Plant & Aquarium Wide Spectrum" to overdriven Philips T12 40W and T8 32W "Daylight Delux". I got the Philips bulbs at ~ $3 a piece at Home Depot (Jwmeyer --- that was at the Salem Home Depot, haha). They are in 2-packs with shrink wrap and cardboard ends.

By "overdriven" I mean that I'm forcing ~60 Watts down each 40W T12 or 32W T8 bulb, by taking apart the fixture and replacing the ballast as described by "Zink" in the thread "I have found the BEST Cheap fluorescent ballast/fixture, continued".

I believe that the combination of changing the color spectrum of the bulb, and increasing the light intensity by overdriving, has helped prevent leggyness in my seedlings. I have also increased light intensity by reducing the escape of light by taping hanging aluminum foil (actually, foiled Christmas wrap) around the light fixtures.

If you don't want to take apart the fixture, and overdrive it, I understand. I think that your next best option is to replace your bulbs with "delux daylight". The second next best option is replacing your cool whites with "natural sunlight".

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago