Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nanaclaire_gw

NEW to Growing Under Lights Year round - Tips needed

nanaclaire
16 years ago

Since I am very very new to growing indoors under a grow light, I need any tips anyone can give me. I have grown indoors under a fluorescent light before and then planted seedlings outside, but now I want to grow herbs indoors all year round so I can have them when cooking. I set this up in an 18"x16" area on my countertop... used two foil pans, one for catching drainage and the other with holes in the bottom for the seeds. Here's a picture:

I bought a Grow Light from Lowes that uses a halogen light:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=76376-1390-G9721GROW-WH&detail=desc&lpage=none

Comments (17)

• rokal
    16 years ago

nanaclaire,

I haven't heard anything positive related to halogen lighting for plant grow. Since there are no specs on the website, I am very skeptical.

I would return it and buy a decent compact florescent if your space is limited. Better yet, from the picture you posted it looks like you have some natural light available. I would use a south facing window if available.

Regards,

Rokal

Here is a link that might be useful: Halogen grow lights

• nanaclaire
    Original Author
    16 years ago

OK, looks like I made a mistake. It appears it is NOT a halogen bulb but a fluorescent instead ... F15T8... I don't know how much wattage that is and the instructions don't say. Anyway, it is a fluorescent afterall. I don't know where I got the Halegen from ...

As far as the lighting, there is no natural light coming into my kitchen. What you see in the picture is a doorwall to my enclosed patio and the light is coming from there. The kitchen itself is rather dark. I also have the light turned on in the picture. I don't have any windows I can use for growing seeds so my only choice was to use artificial lighting.

I'll let you know when I see seedlings ...guess it will be a few weeks?

• nanaclaire