Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dansh84

how high to hang t5's

dansh84
14 years ago

Im somewhat new to growing under lights for a headstart in winter but had really good success last year. I had a 4', 4 bulb t-12 fixture that I had re-arranged for a "grow" setup in the basement. I just used cool whites (2) and a couple of "GE Plant and Aquarium" lights. mostly hot peppers, and tomatoes for a longer term and a few other things for a somewhat shorter term later in the late winter/early spring. Everything went really good. and I didn't lose anything (which was sort of bad cause I "planned" on losing/killing some, so I had a bunch of stuff).

Anyway have really been studying and reading about lights but generally focused on just seedlings and thats it. Tomato, pepper, eggplant (mostly) and a few other things that don't take so long term. I bought two 4', 2-bulb fixtures that take the T5 bulbs, which i rearanged and built a pretty nice fixture w/ a nice reflector covered in foil tape, for a total of 4 t5 bulbs. I built this box-type thing where I could adjust the height with some bolts and the box is also foiled around the whole inside. at the lowest point my lights can be about 2" away (from foliage) and at the highest it was only built to go about 20" away maybe a bit more. So these bulbs came w/ the fixtures and are pretty much a mystery to me. I need help w/ the following: