Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ozzz_gw

Newbie grow log, Tomatos under a 400w HPS

ozzz
15 years ago

Hi everyone!

Im new to the forum and am pretty excited about finding an actual gardening forum that has to do with growing, indoors, under lights. I have never grown anything green before in my life and am interested in setting up an indoor garden to produce fresh veggies year round for two people.

I purchased an HTG 400w HPS lamp. Its not any kind of special bulb, just the general hps bulb. Also, I have done a TON of reading on cannabis growing since it is reported to have such similar needs to tomatoes and until now I couldnt find much information at all on growing veggies under HID and the two plants are supposed to be so similar. Ive done my reading thoroughly and understand pollination, topping, scrog techniques, N-P-K ratios, etc, etc ... although I have no experience in any of it, just the knowledge gained from researching.

So here is what I have so far, I would really like some information and suggestions from you guys. At this point, I think I have made two mistakes. I believe my plants are suffering from nute burn (used a granular) and early on I think I severely overwatered them. To the point that a few plants are sufferring from stem rot, one of which I think Im going to toss since I could use the room.

Heres the pics of my grow, and then Ill ask some questions at the end. Currently I have three Totem Hybrid tomato plants and two bush early girl hybrids. They are both determinate varieties. Now that I know determinates will grow, flower, then die, I wish I would have went with indertimant so I could simply fertilize and manage the adult plants for a few years and get fruits the entire time, instead of having to start with new plants.