Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerfan86

Will this work ok?

FlowerFan86
19 years ago

Hello!

I have read through the posts and I just don't get most of it. I am not good with anything electronic. So I came here looking for help.

Bought a Lithonia Lighting Worklight with a 12" wide reflector from HD.($25) Put in two 48" Ott-Lite tubes.($20)

On the box it says,

48" Full-Spectrum, Long-Life, Radiation Shielded Florescent Tube Average Rated Life 33,000 Hours Replaces all standard F40/T12 Tubes

Most effective when used 6" to 36" above plant tops for 8 to 10 hours a day.

Found a display rack at the junk store for $5 and hooked the light to it. I have some of my Orchids and rose starts under it. What I would like to do is start my tomatoes and peppers under it.

Will this be ok? I looked at the pictures to overdrive, the numbers for the different lights and was lost. I had a hard time figuring out how to put the lights in the worklight as it was. :)

Thank you!!!!!

Comments (3)

• maineman
    19 years ago

FlowerFan,

"On the box it says, 48" Full-Spectrum, Long-Life, Radiation Shielded Fluorescent Tube Average Rated Life 33,000 Hours Replaces all standard F40/T12 Tubes."

Seedlings don't really benefit much from the red light of "full spectrum" bulbs, but it won't hurt them. I use cool white Philips T8 bulbs which cost me $2 each (in builders packs of 10 for $19.99) and although they don't have much in the red end of the spectrum, seedlings do just fine under them. Of course, I do overdrive my bulbs for the 70% increase in light.